North Lincolnshire Community Web Site HUB Computer Services
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from the Discover Barton group pool. Make your own badge here.
The Ropery - Barton-upon-Humber - North Lincolnshire

The Ropery
Waterside Road
North Lincolnshire
DN18 5JT

Click For Map


1767 - Hall's Barton Ropery Co Ltd established by William Hall.
William Hall passed the works to his brother John Hall.
1808 - John Hall took out a patent for a method of tubing rope strands.
1851 - John Hall gained a medal for rope making.
1864 - Ropery was passed onto John Edward Hall who enlarged the works and increased production.
J.E. Hall was s pioneer in wire-rope manufacturing and machine spinning.
1890 - John Hall & Co became Hall's Barton Ropery Co Ltd.
1915 - Pioneers in steel wire anti-submarine nets.
1986 - BridportGrundy PLC took over.
1989 - 23rd December Barton Ropery was closed.
Some of the buildings were demolished and some of the buildings and land was sold to the Proudfoots group in 1992 Thankfully the main ropewalk and the unsual Dispatch building have been completely renovated and have been put to other uses.
Related Links
[The Ropewalk]